Department awards or recognitions:

November 2010: Prof. Rainald Löhner received the Distinguished International Career Award from the Argentine Association of Computational Mechanics (AMCA)

May 2010: Prof. Juan R. Cebral’s paper entitled `Hemodynamic Characteristics Associated to Cerebral Aneurysm Rupture’ (by JR Cebral, MA Castro, JE Burgess, R Pergolizzi and CM Putman) received the Outstanding Presentation Award in Interventional Neuroradiology, also known as the Society of Neurointerventional Surgery (SNIS) Michael Brothers Memorial Award at the 48th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR), Boston, MA, May 15-20, 2010

April 2009: Prof. Juan R. Cebral was named an honorable member of the Saint Petersburg Association of Neurosurgery; the ceremony took place April 24, 2009

March 2009: Fernando Mut, a student of Prof. Juan R. Cebral, received the outstanding doctoral award from the Department of Computational and Data Sciences for his PhD dissertation

May 2008: Prof. Rainald Löhner was elected fellow of the International Association of Computational Mechanics

January 2008: Prof. Juan R. Cebral received the Best Poster Award of the 2008 Joint Mathematics Meeting of the American Mathematical Society and the Mathematical Association of America (Undergraduate Research Poster Competition) for the poster entitled `Hemodynamics analysis of a cerebral aneurysm prior to its rupture’ (by S Hendrickson, CM Putman and JR Cebral), San Diego, CA Jan 5-8, 2008

January 2007: Prof. Juan R. Cebral received the Cum Laude Poster Award in the Physiology and Function session of the SPIE Medical Imaging Conference for the poster `Hemodynamic Patterns of Anterior Communicating Artery Aneurysms: A Possible Association with Rupture’ (by MA Castro, CM Putman and JR Cebral), San Diego, CA, Feb 2007

May 2006: F. Noblesse (DTMB), R. Espinosa (GMU), Chi Yang, and Rainald Löhner received the best paper award at the ISOPE (International Society for Offshore and Polar Engineers) Conference in San Francisco, CA, for their paper entitled `Dispersion Curves for for Diffraction-Radiation by a Ship Advancing Through Regular Waves in Finite Water Depth’. The paper was originally presented at the 15th annual ISOPE Conference (ISOPE 2005), held in Seoul, June 19-24, 2005. The annual ISOPE conference is the largest conference in the field of offshore and polar engineering. The 15th annual Conference counted participants from 47 nations, sitting in on 93 sessions and 3 plenary sessions. The paper was selected best paper among the 471 peer-reviewed papers presented.

January 2006: Prof. Rainald Löhner was recognized as a Distinguished Professor ‘for his substantive and innovative contributions to the field of computational fluid dynamics’. The ceremony took place at GMU on January 24, and was attended by GMU’s president and provost, the deans of several of GMU’s schools, many scientists active in CFD, colleagues, friends and family.

December 2005: Prof. Rainald Löhner was named Honorary Professor of the University of Wales at Swansea. This recognition should serve as a basis for future collaboration of the CFD group at GMU with Swansea’s CFD/CEM/CSD groups.

August 2004: Prof. Juan R. Cebral’s paper entitled `Characterization Of Cerebral Aneurysms For Assessing The Risk Of Rupture Using Patient-Specific Computational Hemodynamics Models’ (by JR Cebral, MA Castro, JE Burgess, R Pergolizzi and CM Putman) was winner of the Norma E. Leeds Award for best scientific paper at Meeting of the Eastern Neuroradiology Society, Boston, MA. This award includes funds and an invitation to present the paper at the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) Annual Meeting, May 2005.

February 2004: Prof. Juan R. Cebral’s poster/paper entitled `Multimodality Image-Based Models Of Carotid Artery Hemodynamics’ (by JR Cebral, CM Putman, R Pergolizzi, JE Burgess and PJ Yim) was awarded the Cum Laude Poster Award in the Physiology and Function session of the SPIE Medical Imaging Conference, San Diego, CA.

November 1999: Prof. Rainald Löhner received the Computational Mechanics Achievements Award from the Computational Mechanics Division of the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers `for his distinguished achievements in the field of computational mechanics’. The award ceremony took place during the annual meeting of the Computational Mechanics Division of JSME in Matsuyama, on the island of Shikoku.